Corsair wins General Excellence award

Home News Corsair wins General Excellence award
Corsair wins General Excellence award

The Corsair won its sixth straight General Excellence award at the Florida Community College Press Association’s annual banquet Oct. 22.  Richard Rodriguez and Paul Smith were awarded the Inner Circle of Excellence. The newspaper’s Web site,, was awarded third place in a new category, Online.

Rodriguez earned third in design, first in picture story, feature photo and news photo.  Smith won first in arts review and general column and second for editorial.

Kay Forrest earned first place for feature story and Chris Wigent was awarded first for sports photo.

Robert Klawitter took third place for sports column and sports writing, Madelain Tigano took third for news story, Jen-Beth Ball third for illustration and design and Kimberly Sweetman third in design.

Adviser Christina Drain was elected vice president of the association and PJC alumna Elena Jarvis, now an adviser at Daytona State College, was elected secretary.

The literary magazine Issue also won several awards at the convention –

Christopher White – first place, photography

Kimberly Grant, Katherine McClung and Katherine Steck – third place, art works

Leave a Reply